#Writing101,#poems,#blogging101,#mother,#daughter,#love,#hard,#lessons

For my mother, who never once

turned around, picked up the rock,

and threw it back

 

Untitled

 

I understood my Mother today,

at least an aspect of her,

her happiness, her determination

which for many years I watched,

hot, gnawing my bones,

jackal-like and slit-eyed,

from a distance.

How could she?

 

This: she refused,

like each living thing,

was simply incapable

of walking towards sure

defeat, of perishing

willfully.

Leave a Reply

